Product Detail

Home Germany Ovest 1974

Germany Ovest 1974

Category: World cup balls

The 1974 World Cup or the 1974 FIFA World Cup (also known as WM 74) was the tenth edition of the World Cup Grand Prix for the FIFA World Cup every four years.
After the final award of the "Jules Rimet" cup to Brazil at the end of the 1970 World Championships, the competition took the name of "FIFA World Cup" (FIFA World Cup, Fr. Coupe du Monde FIFA)
It was held in West Germany from 13 June to 7 July 1974. There were 9 cities hosting the tournament meetings: Hamburg, West Berlin, Dortmund, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt am Main, Gelsenkirchen, Hanover, Munich (also home to Final for 1st place) and Stuttgart. The title was won by the hosts of West Germany.
The 1974 World Football Championship is awarded to West Germany. The Germans want to play well after the tragic episodes that took place two years earlier at the Munich Olympics and nothing left to chance. Police forces patrol the stadiums before and during each match, even the retirement venues of the national teams are heavily guarded and each team is escorted, for each match, from retirement to entry to the stadium, and then re-escorted to the hotel, after the match.
The world's formula changes: for television needs, the number of matches is increased, so after the usual first group stage, the remaining eight formations are placed in two other four-team rounds. The winners of the two rounds dispel the final, while the second two finish the final for the third place.
Among the sixteen finalists are the worlds of East Germany (included in the same group of Western Germans), Haiti, Australia and Zaire, the first sub-Saharan nation to reach the final stage of the World Cup. But the newcomers will make little progress, except for the Germans over the curtain who will win the first round right in front of their cousins ??of the West, defeated in the derby. Surprising is the qualification achieved by Poland that, with a harmonious and modern play, eliminated the British, world champions eight years earlier in the qualifying stages.
The favorites of the eve are Brazil, world champion in charge, Italy vice champion, who has well-figured in the year before these worlds, during the qualifying round, and in subsequent friendly, with top wins in the home, With "Brazilian champions" and Wembley, against the "English masters", in what is the first win of Italy in England's home, and Germany as host; Outsiders the Netherlands of "total football", and Poland itself, Olympic gold two years earlier and led by Grzegorz Lato and Kazimierz Deyna.
The blues soon leave the kermesse; CT Ferruccio Valcareggi maintains the same rose four years earlier, many elements were also present at the defeat of the 1966 World Cup, not to mention the convocation of Gianni Rivera, already present at the 1962 World Cup in Chile; But players are wretched, and the few new innings do not change the fate of a tired and predictable team. Among the new convocations in blue was hoped for Giorgio Chinaglia, top scorer and champion of Italy with Lazio, but his world is tied only to the famous gestaccio with which he sends to that country Valcareggi after being replaced in Italy- Haiti. Brazil overcomes the first stage and does not move in the second, losing much to the Dutch, and having to settle for the final of consolation, then lost with Poland. In the finals are the hosts, and the Netherlands. There are two different types of football clash: a team with a careful, precise, and critically acclaimed game, against a team of genius and ruthlessness that relies on the fantasy and the excellence of its best men.
West Germany could count on Franz Beckenbauer's class, balance and vision, Berti Vogts, and Gerd Müller's goals on the extraordinary talent of director and fancier Johan Cruijff on midfielder Johan Neeskens, orchestra conductor of that formidable team, and Johnny Rep; Both formations were nevertheless made up of players of great rank in each ward. The Germans will win, but the Dutch will be remembered for expressing innovative, funny and brilliant football, voted for the attack and able to provide excellent defensive shells, but this is also very expensive since in this context, total football imposed The total coverage of the field by each individual player who ended up covering more roles in the same game. West Germany wins its second World Cup and reaches Italy and Uruguay as the number of trophies won, both second to Brazil alone

Leave your Comment